Long Term Rental Deposit Query

Started by jamjar, February 12, 2016, 11:58:42 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

jamjar

We paid a "deposit" a few months ago to "secure" a 3 month rental on a property starting in a couple of months time. We no longer wish to rent this property and despite not having signed a contract or any other paperwork as it has all been via email we have been told by the letting agent that we are not entitled to a refund of our deposit. Are they legally allowed to keep our money??

Windermeregolfer

Hi gizmo17 as a retired hotelier I have some experience of deposits.

Without seeing the exchange of emails between you and the agents and any terms and conditions on their website that you may have made your enquiry and booking through I wouldn't like to say yes or no as whether they can keep your deposit.

Check whether there were date sensitive points before your arrival date to see if the deposit became non refundable i.e.90 days or 60 days etc.

Hope that helps for starters.

SheilaW

Did you pay it to the owner or an agent? I don't know if it makes a difference. However, there have been stories of agents wanting finders' fees - some crazy amounts too.

jamjar

Quote from: Windermeregolfer on February 12, 2016, 23:37:41 PM
Hi gizmo17 as a retired hotelier I have some experience of deposits.

Without seeing the exchange of emails between you and the agents and any terms and conditions on their website that you may have made your enquiry and booking through I wouldn't like to say yes or no as whether they can keep your deposit.

Check whether there were date sensitive points before your arrival date to see if the deposit became non refundable i.e.90 days or 60 days etc.

Hope that helps for starters.

I cannot see any terms and conditions on the website, and nothing to suggest that the deposit would become non refundable.